Not a foodie. Sorry not sorry

Kaniz Sheikh

“Ways to my heart: Buy me food, Make me food, Be food” – Common Foodie saying.


Interviewer: Are you a foodie?

Hey guys it’s Kaniz here and personally I feel according yourself a foodie is one of the most typical examples of people trying to bandwagon on what’s trending on social media or the world.

A foodie is a person who has refined interest in food and beverages. A foodie seeks new food experiences as a hobby rather than simply out of convenience or hunger. Well… I would eat most of the time because my body needs to fuel.

When I googled the word foodie, numerous articles popped up such as “6 things to know before calling yourself a foodie” or what makes someone a foodie.
Is it really that serious guys that there are actually articles on how to classify yourself as a foodie? Well, I asked a few people 3 simple questions, and this is what they had to say.


Interviewer: what does being a foodie mean to you?

Interviewee 1: Being a foodie means loving and appreciating different foods

Interviewee 2: Being a foodie to me means that you appreciate the art aspect of the food that is being made. So once a plate is set on your table you can just marvel at its beauty. I’m getting a little bit philosophical here but honestly speaking I feel like all foodies go through this: a plate is set in front of you, you had this expectation in your head of how it’s going to look like, how its going to be presented, it out there in front of you and more often than not it meets and surpasses your expectations. So it turns out to be something amazing. And then one of the things about being a foodie or just in general if you like food is, first of all you eat with your eyes so as soon as something looks good you immediately know that it has to taste good. Being a foodie means I look at more than just the food.


Interviewer: Why are you a foodie?

Interviewee 1: I am a foodie because i really really love food

Interviewee 3: I am a foodie because food is life. I love that food brings everyone together.


Interviewer: What is your favourite food or drink?

Interviewee 2: So my favourite food would…arguably be a burger. Any type- ok I haven’t tried a lot of varieties but the ones I have tried and I’ve tried quite a number have turned out to be spectacular, so good especially if the meat is seasoned well. And it has to be accompanied by the best fries ever. They have to be that nice 50-50 blend of crispy, golden brown, you know? But still soft in the inside with the perfect type of seasoning.

Interviewee 1: I don’t have a favourite food or drink really, I love to eat and try different new things, I love everything Indian, Mexican, Italian. I also love local dishes: chapati and Matoke, I really love that. I love spicy things so I really love Indian foods, curry is amazing.

Interviewee 3: My favourite food is fried chicken and my favourite drink is lemonade.


Interviewer: What about you guys? Are you a foodie? have you thought about “hey I call myself a foodie but what is it, what does it mean?” Tell me what you guys think.

 

Leave a comment